We’re looking for the next School Librarian of the Year

Brittany Sullivan  //  Mar 22, 2016

We’re looking for the next School Librarian of the Year

Beginning today, the 2016 School Library Journal School Librarian of the Year Award is accepting entries!

This third annual award honors a K–12 library professional for outstanding achievement and the exemplary use of 21st-century tools and services to engage children and teens toward fostering multiple literacies. Throughout the past two years, we have had the privilege of celebrating passionate, creative library leaders through this award, including 2015 School Librarian of the Year Kristina Holzweiss of Bay Shore Middle School on Long Island, NY, and 2014 winner Michelle Colte of Hale Kula Elementary School in Wahiawa, HI. Most recently, 2014 School Librarian of the Year finalists Colleen Graves and Andy Plemmons were recognized as 2016 Movers & Shakers by School Library Journal for continuing to push boundaries and elevate student learning.

To join the ranks of these impressive past winners and apply for the 2016 School Librarian of the Year Award, visit: http://www.slj.com/awards/school-librarian-of-the-year/

Nominations close May 20.

This year’s judging panel includes School Library Journal editors, Scholastic Library Publishing staff, Kristina Holzweiss and a school administrator. The winning school librarian will receive a $2,500 cash award, plus $2,500 worth of print and digital materials from Scholastic Library Publishing. Two finalists will each receive $500 in materials of their choice from Scholastic Library Publishing and all three winners will be featured in the September 2016 issue of School Library Journal.

Interested applicants can nominate themselves for School Librarian of the Year. Friends, administrators, peers or institutions can also nominate an outstanding librarian for the award. So what are you waiting for? Nominate yourself or your school librarian today!

Take a look at Kristina Holzweiss talking about her experience as 2015 School Librarian of the Year, below: