The best teen writing, all in one place

Brittany Sullivan  //  Oct 3, 2013

The best teen writing, all in one place

Every year, hundreds of thousands of talented students from across the nation submit their unique works to the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, a national program presented by the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, which recognizes talented teenagers in the visual and literary arts.

For 91 years, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards has celebrated the accomplishments of innovative students by extending opportunities for recognition, exhibition, publication and scholarships. This year, 543 extraordinary teens earned National Scholastic Awards in writing categories. With such an abundance of literary talent, the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers has compiled The Best Teen Writing of 2013, an anthology of National Award–winning written work from the 2013 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards.

The works selected for this publication not only represent the diversity of the National Award winners, but also present a spectrum of the insight and creative intellect that inform many Award-winning pieces.

The call for submissions for the 2014 Art & Writing Awards is now open and students in grades 7–12 can submit their work for consideration. Deadlines for submissions vary by region, occurring throughout the winter months. So, if you are a young art-maker or rule-breaker, apply now to join the ranks of notable Awards alumni such as Truman Capote, Philip Pearlstein, Sylvia Plath, Andy Warhol, John Updike and Stephen King, who all won when they were teens.

A complete listing of National Award winners and online galleries of winning works of art and writing can be found at

The Best Teen Writing 2013 is available for purchase at


Understudies can present

Understudies can present their work for visually impaired arbitration in any of 28 classifications, including film and activity, computer game outline, verse, painting, form, mold plan, news coverage, photography and sci-fi. A Creative Challenge called "Future New," new to the 2013 Awards out of appreciation for its 90th commemoration, will support limit breaking, reasonable or socially-determined works that fuse new advancements to make imaginative craftsmanship. All pieces are assessed on innovation, specialized aptitude, and the development of individual voice, first territorially