The 2018–19 Scholastic News Kids Press Corps welcomes 45 Kid Reporters!

Stephanie Agresti  //  Sep 17, 2018

The 2018–19 Scholastic News Kids Press Corps welcomes 45 Kid Reporters!

We are excited to officially welcome 45 Kid Reporters to the 2018–19 Scholastic News Kids Press Corps!

Today, the award-winning Scholastic News Kids Press Corps has announced the 23 new and 22 returning Kid Reporters from the United States, Australia, Canada, China, the Czech Republic, India, Malaysia, Mexico, South Korea and Thailand who will be covering national and international news for their peers, including breaking news, trending topics, entertainment, sports, local stories and more for their peers.

The Scholastic News Kids Press Corps has been covering “news for kids, by kids” since 2000. Recently, Kid Reporters have covered national news such as Hurricanes Harvey and Maria; the March for Our Lives in Washington, D.C.; Super Bowl LII; and the 2018 Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show.

They have also interviewed an extensive list of notable figures including news anchors Anderson Cooper and Katie Couric; New York Yankees outfielder Aaron Judge; U.S. Olympic medalist Ibtihaj Muhammad; retired NASA astronaut Clayton Anderson; president and founder of the Children’s Defense Fund Marian Wright Edelman; A Wrinkle in Time director Ava DuVernay; author, literacy advocate and football star Malcolm Mitchell; award-winning author and National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson; renowned chefs Dan Barber, Tom Colicchio and Alice Waters; Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States Sonia Sotomayor; and former Vice President Joe Biden.

Follow this year’s Kid Reporter coverage at and in select issues of Scholastic Classroom Magazines which reach more than 25 million students in classrooms nationwide!

The 2018–19 members of the Scholastic News Kids Press Corps are:

* indicates new Kid Reporter


Alula Alderson – Ojai

Annika Petras – Irvine

Arjun Suri – San Diego*

Ella Porter – Aptos*

Jaxon Jones – Malibou Lake*


Andrew Raymundo – Celebration*


Ava-Kelly Gray – Chicago*

Victoria Feng – Buffalo Grove


Brandon Peterson – Britt


Leo Sebastian Tobbe – Louisville*


Owen P. W. Osborne – Shreveport


Grace Denny – Kensington*


Stone Shen – Acton


Titus Smith III – Southfield


Ryan Stoltz – Eden Prairie

New Jersey

Ava Park-Matt – Hoboken

Josh Stiefel – Teaneck

Liset Zacker – South Orange*

New York

Amelia Poor – Brooklyn

Konrad Paul Schwarz – Oyster Bay*

Marley I. Alburez – New York*

Maya Mukherji – New York*

Sunaya DasGupta Mueller – Palisades

North Carolina

Teresa Fang – Chapel Hill*


Nolan Pastore – Hartville


Hana Meher Sadik – Portland


Aiden Zelrick – Lehighton*


Aanya Kabra – Memphis*

Sadie Kiel – Memphis


Benjamin Who – Sugar Land*

Truman J. Hamade – Cedar Park


Sidonie Louise Gillette – Arlington*

Washington, DC

Courtney Pine – Washington

Michael Santomauro – Washington*


Lilian Jochmann – Shorewood


Helen Hong – Nunawading


Nikita A. Mohile – Uxbridge*


Giona Pratelli – Guangzhou

Zoe Jen Chao – Shanghai*

Czech Republic

Rade Meech-Tatic – Prague*


Rohan Saketh Devulapalli – Bangalore


Zhang En Ng – Kuala Lumpur*


Emma Garcia – Puebla*

South Korea

John Woo – Seoul*


Natcharee Chaiwongthitikul – Bangkok

Scholastic News Kids Press Corps