10 Picture Books to Celebrate Mother’s Day

Guest Blogger  //  May 6, 2020

10 Picture Books to Celebrate Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is on Sunday and it’s the perfect time to celebrate moms for all they do! Here are some of our favorite books that show the special relationships that form between a mother (or grandmother!) and their child.

My Wish for You by Kathryn Hahn; Illustrated by Brigette Barrager

Inspired by the everyday life lessons of raising her own six-year-old daughter, author and actress Kathryn Hahn creates a heartfelt and touching meditation on the inherent power every girl has deep inside herself. Here is a timely and necessary message of the intrinsic importance of being who you are, no matter what the world tells you. To be curious, strong, and vulnerable. To live life on your own terms. To always look for that sparkle!

Grandma Loves You Because You’re You by Liza Bakker; Illustrated by David McPhail

Little Fox is back again, only this time Fox is spending a day with Grandma. This endearing story takes the reader through the special moments that a grandchild and grandmother share together, from making delicious pancake breakfasts and flipping through old photo albums, to singing that special song together and baking cookies Grandma-style!

With sweet, rhyming text and heartwarming illustrations, this sequel to I Love You Because You're You is perfect for fans of the original as well as new generations.

Are You My Mommy by Joyce Wan

Join an adorable little bunny on the search for Mommy all around the farm yard. Each spread includes cleverly imagined die-cuts to help readers guess what animal the bunny might encounter next!

Mama Loves Her Little Llama by Sandra Magsamen

Perfect for fans of Are You My Mother? and Is Your Mama a Llama?, a little llama embarks on a journey to find his mother in this call-and-response board book. Little llama comes across a cow, a pig, a cat … and, at last, his llama mama! Babies and toddlers will love holding, touching, and reading this adorable board book with fuzzy llama ears peeking out the top. Featuring rhyming text, adorable pastel illustrations, and soft touch-and-feel llama ears, this is the perfect hands-on pick for Mother's Day and all year round!

Bunny Business by Lori Richmond

It's morning when Mama gets the call that the bunnysitter is sick. But Papa is out of town and school is out. That means Bunny gets to go to work at Mama's office! But the big city isn't all it's cracked up to be, even with its many distractions. Boredom and hunger strike, and Bunny has to take up the mantle to save Mama's office from the workday blues.

I Love My Glam-Ma! by Samantha Berger; Illustrated by Sujean Rim

A joyful celebration of grandmothers who are young at heart, adventurous, and find a bit of glamour in everything they do. Whether these glam-mas are building sandcastles, riding with dolphins, or turning blankets into reading forts and super capes, they live each day with a playful spirit — just like their grandchildren.

I Will Love You by Alyssa Satin Capucilli; Illustrated by Lisa Anchin

Capucilli's text is lyrical, touching, and makes for a great read-aloud, while illustrator Lisa Anchin brings this story to life through magical, detailed landscapes and precious mother/daughter moments. Every parent wants to reassure they will always be loved.

The Granddaughter Necklace by Sharon Dennis Wyeth; Illustrated by Bagram Ibatoulline

A mother shares with her daughter stories of the generations of women in their family as each individual has passed along the tales and a glittering necklace to her own daughter. Includes notes on the author's exploration of her ancestry.

Is Your Mama a Llama? by Deborah Guarino; Illustrated by Steven Kellogg

Lloyd the llama is looking for his mama. "Is your mama a llama?" he asks a bat, a swan, a cow, a seal, and a kangaroo. Young children will share Lloyd's delight when the answer to his question is finally, "Yes!" With rhyme and riddle, and the perfect narration by Amy Madigan, this charming story has become a favorite.

Mama, Will You Hold My Hand? by Anna Pignataro

"Mama, will you hold my hand?" Sammy asks as the sun sets. "I'll hold your hand and you'll hold mine," Mama responds. Mama and Sammy travel over slippery places, through wavy waters, and to the brightest star . . . with the reassurance that they will always be together, no matter what.