Scholastic News Kids Press Corps welcomes 44 Kid Reporters!

Stephanie Agresti  //  Sep 12, 2017

Scholastic News Kids Press Corps welcomes 44 Kid Reporters!

We are excited to officially announce 44 Kid Reporters as part of the 2017–2018 Scholastic News Kids Press Corps!

This school year, 20 new and 24 returning Kid Reporters ages 10–14 from the United States, Australia, China, Hong Kong, India, Thailand, and the United Kingdom will be reporting “news for kids, by kids” with coverage of current events, breaking news, entertainment stories, and sporting events. Over 400 students from across the country and around the world submitted applications to be considered for the Scholastic News Kids Press Corps this year.

For more than 17 years, Kid Reporters have closely covered national events such as the 2016 U.S. presidential election, President Donald Trump’s inauguration, the Women’s March on Washington, the International Consumer Electronics Show, and the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show. These impressive junior journalists have also interviewed notable public figures such as Librarian of Congress Carla D. Hayden; Boston Red Sox center fielder Jackie Bradley Jr.; Paralympic gold medalist Alana Nichols; U.S. Senator Catherine Cortez Masto of Nevada; author and actor Chris Colfer; conservationist Jane Goodall; author and illustrator Dav Pilkey; skateboarder Tony Hawk; and co-host of ABC’s The View, Whoopi Goldberg.

Be sure to look out for news coverage all year long on the Scholastic News Kids Press Corps website and in select issues of Scholastic classroom magazines, reaching more than 25 million students in classrooms nationwide!

For more information about each Kid Reporter and the Scholastic News Kids Press Corps, visit:

The 2017–18 members of the Scholastic News Kids Press Corps are:

* indicates new reporter


Alula Alderson – Ojai*

Jeremy Hsiao – Walnut

Ben Jorgensen – Rancho Palos Verdes

Manat Kaur – Menlo Park

Annika Petras – Irvine*

 Washington, DC

Courtney Pine – Washington


Victoria Feng – Watkinsville


Joseph Gorman – Chicago


Brandon Peterson – Britt


Owen P. W. Osborne – Shreveport*


Caroline Tracy – Falmouth


Daniel Crotti Espinoza – Rockville*


Stone Shen – Acton

Maxwell Surprenant – Needham


Titus Smith III – Southfield


Ryan Stoltz – Eden Prairie


Esther Appelstein – Saint Louis


Alexander Wong – Las Vegas

 New Jersey

Silia Kate Dimasi – Nutley*

Robert Gardner – Haddon Heights*

Ava Park-Matt – Hoboken

Josh Stiefel – Teaneck*

 New York

Sunaya DasGupta Mueller – Palisades

Charlotte Fay – New York

Christina Lilavois – Bronx*

Adedayo Perkovich – New York

Amelia Poor – Brooklyn*


Nolan Pastore – Hartville*


Hana Meher Sadik – Portland*


Sarah Awadalla – Yardley*


Sadie Kiel – Memphis


Truman J. Hamade – Cedar Park*


Lillian Martosko – Burke


Lilian Jochmann – Shorewood


Helen Hong – Melbourne*


Angus Chen – Guangzhou*

Giona Pratelli – Guangzhou

 Hong Kong

Moira Daphne G. Toledo – Tsuen Wan*


Ananyaa Chopra – New Delhi*

Roopkatha Roy – Kolkata*

Rohan Saketh Devulapalli – Bangalore*


Natcharee Chaiwongthitikul – Bangkok

 United Kingdom

Martin Lloyd – Waterlooville

Benedek Payne – Bishop's Stortford*