“Reading for All!” Dick Robinson receives Literarian of the Year Award from President Bill Clinton at the National Book Awards

On November 15, the National Book Foundation hosted their annual National Book Awards, hosted by Cynthia Nixon. President Bill Clinton presented the Literarian of the Year honor to Scholastic Chairman and CEO Dick Robinson, who closed his remarks with an inspiring battlecry: “Reading for all!”  

The National Book Foundation also livestreamed the event, during which Annie Proulx received a lifetime achievement award presented by actress Anne Hathaway, and during which the awards for Young People’s Literature, Poetry, Nonfiction and Fiction were presented. You can watch the replay here. 

Congratulations to Dick on this outstanding honor!

Take a look at some of the social media conversations from the exciting event: