Looking back at books honored by the American Library Association

Brooke Shearouse  //  Jan 20, 2017

Looking back at books honored by the American Library Association

It's a big weekend in the children's literature world...the American Library Association's (ALA) midwinter meeting! Each year the ALA honors authors and illustrators for their distinguished contributions to children’s literature. The big announcements—the Caldecotts, the Newberys, and more—will come on Monday, so today, let's take a look back at some of our favorite Scholastic books that have been honored. (Meanwhile, follow all the fun at the ALA Midwinter website.)

Caldecott AwardNamed in honor of Randolph Caldecott, this award is presented annually to the American illustrator of the most remarkable picture book for children. Past winning Scholastic titles include:

Newbery AwardAwarded annually to the author of the most outstanding contribution to American literature for children. Past winning Scholastic titles include:

Coretta Scott King AwardNamed in honor of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and Mrs. Coretta Scott King’s constant effort towards peace, this award is given to exceptional  books for young adult and children by African American authors. Past winning Scholastic titles include:

Michael L. Printz AwardFor a young adult novel that demonstrates literary excellence. Past winning Scholastic titles include:

Mildred L. Batchelder AwardThis award is given to an American publisher for an excellent children’s book which was originally published in a foreign language and then translated in English. Past winning Scholastic titles include:

Pura Belpré Award: Presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best celebrates the Latino cultural experience through literature. (Check out this glorious look back at 20 years of the Pura Belpré!) Past winning Scholastic titles include:

Robert F. Sibert HonorAwarded to informational books that made a significant impact on children’s literature. Past winning Scholastic titles include:

Schneider Family Book Award: Awards an author or illustrator for a book that exemplifies artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences. Past winning Scholastic titles include:

Stonewall Book AwardBooks which present outstanding value relating to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transsexual orientations. Past winning Scholastic titles include:

Theodor Seuss Geisel HonorAn award given annually to an American children’s author(s) and illustrators(s) who contributed significantly to beginning readers books. Past winning Scholastic titles include:

William C. Morris AwardHonors a first-time author who has written a YA debut novel. Past winning Scholastic titles include:

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young AdultsHonors best nonfiction book for YA readers. Past winning Scholastic titles include:

Odyssey Award: An award for the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States:

  • Echo Pam Muñoz Ryan, narrated by Mark Bramhall, David De Vries, Rebecca Soler, MacLeod Andrews (Odyssey Honor)
  • A Snicker of Magic Natalie Lloyd, narrated by Cassandra Morris (Odyssey Honor)

Follow along at #alamw17. Good luck to all of the eligible authors and artists!