8 family listens for a novel Labor Day weekend

Long weekends are rare, precious things. Whether you’re the type of person who counts down to them with big Xs on calendars, or the type who lets them roll in by surprise like free cans of soda from vending machines, these weekends are Made. To. Savor.

This Labor Day weekend, season your hours with some sonics, aka audiobooks! From staycations to road-trips, audiobooks are one of the easiest and most popular ways to devour exciting stories while keeping your entire family entertained for hours.   

Tune into these stories for a novel Labor Day weekend:

1) THE APPRENTICE WITCH

For families who love fantasies!

This enchanting and spell-binding listen about magic and grit in a world of witches will keep everyone hooked for hours. Perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Circus Mirandus and The Apothecary. Bonus tidbit: the narrator, Elizabeth Knowelden, is British! (Ages 8 – 12 |Audiobook length: 7 hrs and 33 mins)

(2) REFUGEE

For fans of historical fiction and stories of survival.  

A tour de force from acclaimed author Alan Gratz, this New York Times bestselling novel shares the timely and powerful story of three different children seeking refuge. It’s an action-packed story that’ll keep the entire family at the edge of their seats. (Ages 8 – 12 |Audiobook length: 7 hrs and 36 mins) 

(3) BOW WOW: A BOWSER AND BIRDIE NOVEL

For everyone in the mood for a ruff mystery…

Birdie Gaux, a sharp-eyed girl detective, and Bowser, her handsome dog, dive into a new mystery about a bull shark in the swamp. Young animal lovers will love listening to the escapades of this dynamic duo from bestselling author Spencer Quinn. (Ages 8 – 12 |Audiobook length: 6 hrs and 23 mins)

(4) DIRT

For folks who like animals and friendship stories.

A young girl and her stubborn, silly pony will win your heart (and ears) in DIRT. It’s a story that will make you worry, make you cry, and ultimately fill you with hope, love, and an unshakable belief in the power of friendship. Especially the four-legged kind. (Ages 8 – 12 |Audiobook length: 5 hrs and 7 mins)

5) THE LOTTERYS PLUS ONE

For listeners looking for a multi-cultural listen.

Featuring 7 kids, 4 parents, 5 pets, and 1 grumpy grandpa, listeners won’t forget this vibrant story that’s a cross between Little Miss Sunshine, Cheaper by the Dozen, and Modern Family. It’s also the first children’s book from Emma Donoghue, the best-selling author of the adult novel ROOM. (Ages 8 – 12 |Audiobook length: 6 hrs and 35 mins) 

(6) THE HARLEM CHARADE

For those looking to explore a new neighborhood.

In this fast-paced story, three kids from Harlem join forces to solve a crime and save their neighborhood. Great for fans of CHASING VERMEER and those looking for a clever new mystery to keep them on their toes. (Ages 8 – 12 |Audiobook length: 6 hrs and 49 mins) 

(7) DARKNESS OF DRAGONS (WINGS OF FIRE #10)

For WINGS OF FIRE fans looking for a new way to experience the stories!

Something is coming to shake the earth. Something is coming to scorch the ground. Young fans of this New York Timesbest-selling series will love hearing this epic dragon story, the latest from author and mastermind Tui T. Sutherland. (Ages 8 – 12 |Audiobook length: 10 hrs and 26 mins)

 

(8) HORIZON (#1)

For readers who love stories about sci-fi, survival, and exploring new frontiers.  

When a plane crash-lands in the Arctic, eight young survivors step from the wreckage expecting to see nothing but ice and snow. Instead they find themselves lost in a strange jungle with no way to get home and little hope of rescue. With danger at every turn, they must learn to work together to survive. This is the first story in a new series from the visionary mind ofNew York Times best-selling author Scott Westerfeld. (Ages 9 – 12 |Audiobook length: 5 hrs and 53 mins) 

 

Have a super-sonic weekend,

Vaishali Nayak

Scholastic Trade Marketing