39 Kid Reporters Chosen for 2016–17 Scholastic News Kids Press Corps!

Brittany Sullivan  //  Nov 29, 2016

39 Kid Reporters Chosen for 2016–17 Scholastic News Kids Press Corps!

This year, more than 300 kids from across the country and around the world mailed in applications to join the award-winning Scholastic News Kids Press Corps™. Our editors spent weeks carefully reviewing each application and today, we couldn’t be more excited to welcome 24 new and 15 returning Kid Reporters to the team!

In the United States, these junior journalists, ages 10 to 14, hail from 19 states and the District of Columbia, and they will report on current events, breaking news, entertainment stories, and sporting events. This year, we also are proud to announce that the largest-ever team of international Kid Reporters will be reporting from the United Kingdom, New Zealand, China, Thailand, Nigeria, and other African countries from onboard Mercy Ships.

For more than 16 years, the Scholastic News Kids Press Corps has delivered “news for kids, by kids.” Last year, Kid Reporters closely covered the 2016 presidential election, attending rallies, debates, primaries, and national conventions where they talked to voters, political experts, and presidential candidates. Kid Reporters also interviewed authors, entertainers, and public figures, including First Lady Michelle Obama, composer, lyricist, and performer Lin-Manuel Miranda, author and actress Sonia Manzano, NFL quarterback Russell Wilson, country music star Tim McGraw, and Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden.

Keep an eye out! Throughout the year, the new Kid Reporters’ stories will be published online at www.scholastic.com/kidspress and in issues of Scholastic classroom magazines, which are read by more than 25 million students nationwide.


The 2016–2017 members of theScholastic News Kids Press Corps are:

* indicates new reporter


Jeremy Hsiao – Walnut

Ben Jorgensen – Rancho Palos Verdes*

Manat Kaur – Menlo Park*

Anais Singh-Gee – Los Angeles*


Jacob McNab – Westminster*


Benjamin Schiller – Boca Raton


Victoria Feng – Watkinsville*


Joseph Gorman – Chicago*


Brandon Peterson – Britt*


Caroline Tracy – Falmouth*


Stone Shen – Acton

Maxwell Surprenant – Needham


Titus Smith III – Southfield*


Ryan Stoltz – Eden Prairie


Esther Appelstein – Saint Louis

New Jersey

Ava Park-Matt – Hoboken*

Skylar Yarter – Maplewood

Joshua Yi – Milltown

Ethan Zucker – Summit*


Alexander Wong – Las Vegas*

New York

Sunaya DasGupta Mueller – Palisades*

Charlotte Fay – New York

Adedayo Perkovich – New York


Evelyn Smits – Olmsted Township


Sadie Kiel – Memphis*


Bridget Li – Austin


Lillian Martosko – Burke*

Manu Onteeru – Sterling

Washington, D.C.

Courtney Pine


Lilian Jochmann – Shorewood


Giona Pratelli – Guangzhou*

Michael Shen – Guangzhou*

New Zealand

Ella Evans – Invercargill*

Troy Nandu – Hamilton*


Kendra Adaeze Ichoku – Port Harcourt*


Natcharee Chaiwongthitikul – Bangkok*

United Kingdom

Adam Davé-Bouhlel – Watford*

Martin Lloyd – Waterlooville*

Onboard Mercy Ships (Benin)

Caleb Biney – Cotonou*